Alt-rock legends The Lemonheads are set to release a new record in 2019, their first in ten years.

When The Lemonheads reformed after an eight-year hiatus back in 2005, fans were undoubtedly hoping that plenty of new material would be forthcoming. However, following the release of 2006’s self-titled effort, Evan Dando released Varshons in 2009, a cover album that remains criminally underrated.

Featuring songs by artists as varied as GG Allin, Christina Aguilera, Leonard Cohen, and Townes Van Zandt, the record wasn’t exactly what fans had been expecting, but was a brilliant album regardless.

As the years went on, rumours of new material circulated, with Ryan Adams revealing he was set to play drums on a new record, and the Descendents’ Bill Stevenson supposedly being tapped to produce. Now, the wait is over, with the band announcing the release of Varshons 2 for 2019.

A follow-up to their 2009 effort, the new cover album sees The Lemonheads tackling tracks by the likes of the Eagles, Lucinda Williams, The Jayhawks, and The Replacements’ Paul Westerberg. The record also sees a bit of an Australian link as well, with a Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds cover in the mix, and a cover of The GiveGoods’s ‘Unfamiliar’.

If the name The GiveGoods doesn’t sound… unfamiliar to you, that might be because it was a supergroup of sorts that featured members of Aussie bands such as Smudge, Something For Kate, Waikiki, Whopping Big Naughty, and of course, honorary Aussie Evan Dando himself.

The band have also given fans a taste of the new record, sharing their cover of Yo La Tengo’s ‘Can’t Forget’. Pre-orders for the record are available now, with Varshons 2 set for a February 8th release.

Check out The Lemonheads’ cover of ‘Can’t Forget’:

Varshons 2 Track List

  1. ‘Can’t Forget’ (Yo La Tengo)
  2. ‘Settled Down Like Rain’ (The Jayhawks)
  3. ‘Old Man Blank’ (Bevis Frond)
  4. ‘Things’ (Paul Westerberg)
  5. ‘Speed Of The Sound Of Loneliness’ (John Prine)
  6. ‘Abandoned’ (Lucinda Williams)
  7. ‘Now And Then’ (Natural Child)
  8. ‘Magnet’ (NRBQ)
  9. ‘Round Here’ (Florida Georgia Line)
  10. ‘TAQN’ (The Eyes)
  11. ‘Unfamiliar’ (The GiveGoods)
  12. ‘Straight To You’ (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds)
  13. ‘Take It Easy’ (Eagles)